Exceptional tango dancers… Chicho y Juana!

This Sunday, we went with Jérôme to the Villa Malcolm for a milonga. Nothing really extraordinary up to here. However, this night, a very special guest was present: Mariano “Chicho” Frúmboli and his partner Juana Sepúlveda. They are internationally renowned dancers that I love and admire! Our tango teacher in Switzerland could not stop showing us videos of him and we quickly became fans as well! Needless to say, when we saw that he was coming to do a demonstration in a milonga in Buenos Aires, we jumped on the occasion and quickly reserved a table! The milonga was obviously full; the dancefloor really packed which obliged dancers to dance in a tiny little space, simply, without thousands of embellishments and figures.

Chicho is an Argentine professional dancer who lives in Paris if I am not mistaken. He gives seminars and classes all around the world. Some of you might have seen him recently in a French movie named “Tango Libre” (2012) where he plays “the Argentine”, prisoner giving tango lessons to his cellmates. Chicho was more into the rock world before falling in love with Argentine tango and never left this world since!

I am writing way too much, let the show begins! They left us breathtaken with five dances: four tangos and one milonga. You have to know that everything they do is improvised on the fly, every tango being an artistic creation of its own which makes the show absolutely fascinating and wonderful! Note that I did not take the videos here, for once I decided to entirely enjoy the show away from my camera screen!

The dance that had the most success to my point of view, and the point of view of the others as well if we believe the thunder of applause that followed, was the milonga. I can only dream that one day I would dance like this, it’s splendid! I let you admire the show…

The dance that had the most success to my point of view, and the point of view of the others as well if we believe the thunder of applause that followed, was the milonga. I can only dream that one day I would dance like this, it’s splendid! I let you admire the show…

Les mecs! (dixit Chicho)
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About nbeuchat

I am currently traveling South America to discover its culture, landscapes, and fascinating people. I am passionate about photography, scuba-diving and dancing.

3 responses to “Exceptional tango dancers… Chicho y Juana!”

  1. Mamouchka says :

    Impressionnant ces démonstrations, je me réjouis de te voir danser comme cela mon Nico !!

  2. Khuê says :

    Chapeau les mecs!

  3. Anonymous says :

    ouah, ce chicho quel pro !!! un vrai plaisir pour les yeux, bcp d'émotion..bisous mon Nicomarraine

Leave a Reply

